Need Help with Yaw Chair/Oculus Quest setup for child with disability

Hi -- I hope this is the right place to post. I'm relatively new to VR and new to the Yaw chair. My son has severe autism and loves VR and roller coasters -- but he is not able to control the VR device on his own. What we want is to be able to put him in the chair and control everything externally so that we do not have to keep putting on the VR headset, starting the ride and quickly switching him into place.

With a lot of trial and error (for us) we have managed to get to the point where we have tethered the Oculus to a computer system and can see what the user sees on the screen. However, I have not been able to control it or make selections of rides or start, etc. , from the computer -- the person in the headset still has to control the experience.

Also, it seems like every time we want to use it we have to connect the chair to the app on phone or ipad, connect the Oculus to the chair through the headset, then login to the casting website on the computer OR the oculus website with the game (Epic roller coasters) downloaded. And then after all that it seems the wearer of the headset still has to control the experience.

Can anyone out there advise me how to set things up more easily so that we could just put my son in the chair with the headset, and do all the rest on the connected computer? (Dell/Alienware)?

Thanks very much in advance.

Comments

• @arikalisanne Hi, I wish there was an easy answer for you but the YawVR experience is not very consumer-friendly. It requires a lot of applications and tweaking to get it working properly, which is a pain even for a single user! One thing that might help you a little - you can use the Oculus Quest wirelessly if you purchase Virtual Desktop on it. There are tutorials online for how to get the Quest wirelessly connected to the PC. This will allow you to see what he sees in the headset without being attached with a wire.